Exploring the North: Visiting Baguio

Posted: July 12, 2013 in Adventure, Travel
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I went to Baguio to celebrate my birthday last month with my parents. This wasn’t my first visit to Baguio, but this is my first time I’m blogging about it. I’m not sure when was the last time I’ve been here before this trip. I think it was during our college field trip that was a couple of years ago. Our first stop was at the giant lion’s head. I just took pictures of it then we move on with our journey. Haha.

The Lion

Because our car was coding that day, we stopped by the police station to ask where are the areas that has number coding in effect so that we can avoid it. While my dad was conversing with the police, I saw this tarpaulin that caught my attention: “Simple Things the Baguio City Police Shall Do for the City” and “Simple Things I Can Do to Help the BCPO”. Cool isn’t it!

Baguio Police

Actually, we don’t have itinerary prepared. Since there is no number coding at Mine’s View Park, we decided to have our lunch here and then explore the area. I’ll do a separate blog where we ate our lunch in my next entry.

Mine’s View Park is a popular tourist attraction that should never be missed when visiting Baguio. It has a beautiful scenery that tourists can enjoy.

At the entrance to the park are stalls selling native handicrafts.

As you walk along the stone-covered stairway, you’ll see a bench where you can take your photos with the Saint Bernard at Php 10 for 4 shots and Php 10 per shot with the horses.

   

   

At the far end of the park is the observation deck. From the observation deck, you will be able to have a clear view of the surrounding mountains.

You can also rent costumes and have unlimited picture taking for only Php 10.

After our trip to the Mine’s View Park, we headed towards Good Shepherd to buy goodies for our “pasalubong“.

Store Hours: Monday – Friday and Sunday 8:00 AM to 5:00PM; Saturday 8:00 AM to 5:30 PM

Baguio City Good Shepherds Products

Next stop was the Mansion. The Mansion is the official summer residence of the President of the Philippines.

The Mansion English Language  The Mansion Native Language

   Just right across the Mansion House is the Wright Park. It has an elongated rectangular pool known as the “Pool of Pines”

The last stop of our adventure was the Burnham park.  It was named after the American architect and urban planner, Daniel Hudson Burnham who laid the plans for the city.

This is the place where one enjoys boating with rented boats.

They also have bike rentals at the side. You can rent either single bikes, tandem bikes or even bikes with side cars.

Due to time constraint, I wasn’t able to explore the other parts of Baguio City. I’ll be posting the hotel where we stay and the places where we eat in my succeeding entries.

I’m so blessed to be able to spend a vacation in a nice cool-weathered place together with my loved ones. I’m looking forward to visit the other parts of Baguio City in the future. What other tourist spots  in Baguio did I miss?

Don’t forget to join my Kanvas giveaway.

Follow Me | Facebook Page | Twitter | Bloglovin | Tumblr | Instagram Username: jcnqt | Network Blogs |

Comments
  1. tet says:

    I miss Baguio. Last time I went there is because of work. I wish to travel for leisure next time. 🙂

  2. January says:

    Been to Baguio in 1998 for a college educational tour. I hope to visit the summer capital of the Philippines after 15 years. 🙂

  3. max says:

    that was a nice birthday bonding with your parents
    happy b-day khyutee!

  4. That looks like a fun place to visit. I haven’t been there yet.

  5. aw, i super miss baguio! oh, I love good shepherd goodies, too! glad to know you had a great time in baguio, sis! 🙂

  6. KRIZZA says:

    Haven’t been in Baguio for a long time now. My kids are urging me to visit the place soon. I hope we can visit there soon. I want to buy goodies from Good Shepherd, too.:)

  7. I hope I could visit Baguio someday! It’s nice to see that there are still a lot of trees despite the major developments.

  8. Gerilen says:

    i miss baguio! will wait for your Minesview Lunch post! 😀

  9. Rose says:

    i haven’t been to baguio yet and it’s one of the places i really want to visit. so lucky you were able to go there with your parents. what a great way to celebrate your birthday. 🙂

  10. Olga says:

    I’ve been to Baguio several times already but it was always for seminars so I’ve never really been able to go around as a tourist. I do hope to be able to take the kids there one of these days. 🙂

  11. Kaka miss nga ang Bagiuo! Hope I could visit it again soon. 🙂 Your shots make me miss the place more! 😀

  12. Kristine says:

    Love the photos! Especially the swan boats! Wanna visit Baguio someday!

  13. JanzCrystalz says:

    I wish to return to Baguio soon..

Post a Comment